NEET Syllabus Simplified: Classification of Plant Kingdom

NEET Syllabus Simplified - Classification of Plant Kingdom

Nature is a never-ending source of wonder, and the plant kingdom is a testament to this. The wide range of plant species, from delicate mosses and ferns to towering trees, is truly a marvel. As aspiring medical professionals, understanding the classification of the plant kingdom is of utmost importance for NEET exam preparation. Under NEET Syllabus Simplified, we’ll take a journey through the different divisions of the plant kingdom and explore the wonders plants hold.

The classification of the plant kingdom is based on various factors such as morphology, anatomy, and physiology. The most widely accepted system of classification was proposed by Carl Linnaeus in 1753, also known as the binomial system of nomenclature. In this system, every plant species is given a unique two-part name, the first being the genus, and the second being the species.

The plant kingdom can be divided into five major groups, also known as divisions. These are:

  1. Bryophytes: The bryophytes division includes mosses, liverworts, and hornworts. These plants, also known as non-vascular plants, lack a system of tubes to transport water and nutrients throughout the plant. These plants thrive in damp, shady environments and reproduce through fragmentation.
  2. Pteridophytes: This division includes ferns and fern allies. Unlike bryophytes, pteridophytes are vascular plants and have a system of tubes to transport water and nutrients. These plants reproduce through fragmentation, spores, or spores.
  3. Gymnosperms: The gymnosperm division includes conifers and cycads. These plants are also vascular and are known for their naked seeds. Unlike angiosperms, their seeds are not enclosed in an ovary.
  4. Angiosperms: This division includes flowering plants, which are perhaps the most well-known and widely recognized plants. Angiosperms are vascular plants with seeds enclosed in an ovary. The flowers produced by these plants are incredibly diverse and intricate, and play an important role in the pollination process.
  5. Algae: The algae division includes simple, non-vascular plants that are typically found in water. These plants serve as the primary producers in the food chain and play a crucial role in supporting the rest of the ecosystem.

The classification of the plant kingdom is a tool that helps us understand the evolution and relationships between different plant species. It serves as a visual representation of the diversity and complexity of the plant kingdom and is essential part of NEET syllabus.

Now, let’s bring the concept of classification to life with a creative analogy. Imagine the plant kingdom as a grand library, with each division serving as a different section. The bryophytes section, for example, could be a cozy corner filled with tiny, delicate books. The pteridophytes section could be a lush greenhouse filled with towering books, and the gymnosperms section could be a section filled with books with naked seeds, just waiting to be discovered. The angiosperms section could be a room filled with books of every color, shape, and size, and the algae section could be a peaceful aquatic haven, filled with simple, yet vital books.

In this library of the plant kingdom, each genus and species is a unique book, waiting to be explored. And as we delve into each one, we learn more about the fascinating world of plants and the role they play in our ecosystem.

By exploring each division, from the mosses and liverworts of the bryophytes, to the intricate flowers of the angiosperms, we gain a deeper appreciation for the diversity of the plant kingdom. This understanding is essential for medical professionals, as it helps us to recognize the different plants and understand their role in our ecosystem.

Practice questions For NEET syllabus

Below are sample questions for NEET preparation. To practice 20000+ MCQs, log into NEETshala app or website and go to question bank from the main menu. You can practice MCQs or go through Flashcards. Click here to go to MCQs directly.

Answers given at the end.

1: What is the basis of the classification of the plant kingdom?

a. Anatomy

b. Physiology

c. Morphology

d. All of the above

2: Who proposed the binomial system of nomenclature for plants?

a. Charles Darwin

b. Carl Linnaeus

c. Gregor Mendel

d. Louis Pasteur

3: Which division of the plant kingdom includes ferns and fern allies?

a. Bryophytes

b. Pteridophytes

c. Gymnosperms

d. Angiosperms

4: Which division of the plant kingdom includes flowering plants?

a. Bryophytes

b. Pteridophytes

c. Gymnosperms

d. Angiosperms

5: Which division of the plant kingdom includes simple, non-vascular plants typically found in water?

a. Bryophytes

b. Pteridophytes

c. Gymnosperms

d. Algae


  1. d. All of the above
  2. b. Carl Linnaeus
  3. b. Pteridophytes
  4. d. Angiosperms
  5. d. Algae

Note: Let us know in comments which chapters you want us to cover under NEET Syllabus Simplified.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *